1. Welcome to Jeeps.net!

You are currently viewing as a guest! To get full-access, you need to register for a FREE account.

As a registered member, you’ll be able to:
    • Participate in all Jeep discussion topics
    • Transfer over your build thread from a different forum to this one
    • Communicate privately with other Jeep owners from around the world
    • Post your own photos in our Members Gallery
    • Access all special features of the site

2012 GrandCherokee rattle

Discussion in 'General Jeep Discussion' started by kbinthelbg, Jul 7, 2024.

1. Jul 7, 2024 at 8:06 AM
    kbinthelbg

kbinthelbg [OP] New Member

Member:
    Hello everyone I’m a newbie here and I figured that someone here could help my issue. I have a 2012 Grand Cherokee 3.6 V6. My issue started many months back with what sounded like a rattling coming from the right rear. I thought it may have been something in the spare tire compartment but it wasn’t. It would come and go. I went under the rear and put a 6” piece of runner hose on the emergency brake line because it looked as if it had been bouncing and hitting something. I’m not too familiar with names or parts. Then one day I start backing out of my yard and I hear a boink sound and it seemed to come from the right rear. As I’m backing up I start hearing a click/ticking sound from the right rear. Almost like a rotation of the tire every 360 degrees as it rotates click, click….. as I speed up it sounds like a playing card in a bicycle spoke.